Penalties for Assault in Minnesota

All penalties listed below are the maximum penalty that can be imposed under Minnesota Law unless otherwise specified.

1st Degree Assault: Felony
Great Bodily Harm (Subdivision 1): 20 years in prison and/or a $30,000 fine.

Deadly Force against Peace Officer (Subdivision 2): 20 years in prison and/or a $30,000 fine.

The minimum sentence that may be imposed under this subdivision is 10 years and is not eligible for probation, parole, discharge, work release, or supervised release until that person has served the full term of imprisonment.

2nd Degree Assault: Felony
Dangerous Weapon (Subdivision 1): 7 years in prison and/or a $14,000 fine.

Dangerous Weapon; substantial bodily harm (Subdivision 2): 10 years in prison and/or a $20,000 fine.

3rd Degree Assault
Felony: 5 years in prison and/or a $10,000 fine.

Substantial Bodily Harm (Subdivision 1): 5 years in prison and/or a $10,000 fine.

Past pattern of child abuse; substantial bodily harm (Subdivision 2): 5 years in prison and/or a $10,000 fine.

Felony: victim under four (Subdivision 3): 5 years in prison and/or a $10,000 fine.

4th Degree Assault
Gross Misdemeanor (Subdivision 1): 1 year in prison and/or a $3,000 fine.

Felony (Subdivision 1): 3 years in prison and/or a $6,000 fine.

Subdivisions 2-10: Range from felonies to gross misdemeanors.

5th Degree Assault
Misdemeanor (Subdivision 1): 90 days in prison and/or a $1,000 fine.

Gross Misdemeanor (Subdivision 2): 1 year in prison and/or a $3,000 fine.

Felony (Subdivision 4): 5 years in prison and/or a $10,000 fine.

Domestic Assault by Strangulation
Felony: 3 years and/or a $5,000 fine.