Drug Crime and Controlled Substance Penalties in Minnesota

Drug related crimes that take place in the State of Minnesota are very serious matters and can carry severe legal consequences. If you’ve been accused of a drug crime in Minnesota, you may be confronted with penalties such as fines, probation, and/or prison time. Having a drug crime on your record will minimize your chances or obtaining a good job or place to live for the rest of your life.

Persons accused of drug crimes may reduce or eliminate their punishments by completing drug diversion courses or drug rehab programs. If it can be proven that the accused is guilty but also has a drug abuse problem, there are potential alternatives to jail time. Rehab programs can last months to a full year including follow up care.

The experienced Minnesota drug charge attorneys of Brandt Criminal Defense will use our extensive knowledge of the legal system to create a defense for your situation. With our skill and experience we may be able to have your charges dropped or reduced.

All penalties listed below are the maximum penalty that can be imposed under Minnesota Law unless otherwise specified.

1st Degree Controlled Substance Crime
Felony: 30 years in prison and/or a $1,000,000 fine.

The Minimum sentence for a second offense is 4 years in prison and the maximum is 40 years in prison and a fine of not more than $1,000,000.

2nd Degree Controlled Substance Crime
Felony: 25 years in prison and/or a $500,000 fine.

The Minimum sentence for a second offense is 3 years in prison and the maximum is 40 years in prison and a fine of not more than $500,000.

3rd Degree Controlled Substance Crime
Felony: 20 years in prison and/or a $250,000 fine.

The Minimum sentence for a second offense is 2 years in prison and the maximum is 30 years in prison and a fine of not more than $250,000.

4th Degree Controlled Substance Crime
Felony: 15 years in prison and/or a $100,000 fine.

The Minimum sentence for a second offense is 1 year in prison and the maximum is 30 years in prison and a fine of not more than $100,000.

5th Degree Controlled Substance Crime
Felony: 5 years in prison and/or a $10,000 fine.

The Minimum sentence for a second offense is 6 months in prison and the maximum is 30 years in prison and a fine of not more than $20,000.

 

Drug Crimes Information Minneapolis & Saint Paul MN