Penalties for Driving While Impaired (DWI) or Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Minnesota

All penalties listed below are the maximum penalty that can be imposed under Minnesota Law unless otherwise specified. Minnesota has some of the harshest punishments for first time and repeat offenders.

1st Degree DUI

  • Felony: 7 years in prison and/or a $14,000 fine.
  • Impound the license plates of the driver and seek forfeiture of the driver’s vehicle.
  • Police may also hold the DWI suspect in jail until the first court appearance.

2nd Degree DUI

  • Gross Misdemeanor: 1 year in prison and/or a $3,000 fine.
  • Impound the license plates of the driver and seek forfeiture of the driver’s vehicle.
  • Police may also hold the DWI suspect in jail until the first court appearance.

3rd Degree DUI

  • Gross Misdemeanor: 1 year in prison and/or a $3,000 fine.
  • Impound the license plates of the driver and seek forfeiture of the driver’s vehicle.
  • Police may also hold the DWI suspect in jail until the first court appearance.

4th Degree DUI

  • Misdemeanor: 90 days in jail and/or a $1,000 fine.
  • Fourth degree DWI’s are given to persons with no prior DWI or DUI related license revocations.

Repeat Offender Punishments

Minnesota carries a DWI statute requiring presumptive mandatory sentences for repeat DWI offenders if convicted:

  • Second DWI – 30 days executed jail sentence
  • Third DWI – 90 days executed jail sentence
  • Fourth DWI – 180 days executed jail sentence
  • Fifth DWI – 1 year executed jail sentence

DWI & DUI Information Minneapolis, MN








 

Locations

Anoka Office

loading map - please wait...

Anoka, MN 45.199654, -93.387372

2150 3rd Ave North
Suite 210
Anoka, MN 55303

Hopkins Office

loading map - please wait...

Hopkins Office 44.925443, -93.410989

25 9th Ave North
PO Box 458
Hopkins, MN 55343