Penalties for Arson in Minnesota

All penalties listed below are the maximum penalty that can be imposed under Minnesota Law.

1st Degree Arson: Felony
Dwelling (Subdivision 1): 20 years in prison and/or a $20,000 fine.
Other Buildings (Subdivision 2): 20 years in prison and/or a $35,000 fine.
Flammable Material (Subdivision 3): 20 years in prison and/or a $20,000 fine.

2nd Degree Arson: Felony
10 years in prison and/or a $20,000 fine.

3rd Degree Arson: Felony
5 years in prison and/or a $10,000 fine.

4th Degree Arson: Gross Misdemeanor
1 year in prison and/or a $3,000 fine.

5th Degree Arson: Misdemeanor
90 year in prison and/or a $1,000 fine.

Use of ignition devices: Petty Misdemeanor
$300 fine.
Arson Information Minneapolis & Saint Paul MN