Penalties for Burglary in Minnesota
If convicted of a burglary or theft crime in Minnesota you may be faced with serious penalties and fines (including prison time). Depending on the value of the property stolen, penalties may range from a simple misdemeanor to a felony. First, second, and third degree burglary charges inflict harsher sentencing than theft crimes as they are felony offenses and carry up to 20 years in prison.
All penalties listed below are the maximum penalty that can be imposed under Minnesota Law unless otherwise specified.
1st Degree Burglary
Felony: 20 years in prison and/or a $35,000 fine.
The Minimum sentence for burglary of an occupied dwelling is six months.
2nd Degree Burglary
Felony: 10 years in prison and/or a $20,000 fine.
3rd Degree Burglary
Felony: 5 years in prison and/or a $10,000 fine.
4th Degree Burglary
Gross Misdemeanor: 1 year in prison and/or a $3,000 fine.