Penalties for Malicious Punishment of a Child in Minnesota
All penalties listed below are the maximum penalty that can be imposed under Minnesota Law unless otherwise specified.
The penalties for malicious punishment depend on the age of the child and the severity of the harm.
- Gross Misdemeanor: If the punishment results in less than substantial bodily harm: 1 year in prison and/or a $3,000 fine.
- Child Under age Four and bodily harm to head, eyes, neck or multiple bruises: Felony: 5 years and/or a $10,000 fine.
- Substantial Bodily Harm: Felony: 5 years and/or a $10,000 fine.
- Great Bodily Harm: Felony: 10 years and/or a $20,000 fine.