Domestic Assault Penalties in Minnesota
All penalties listed below are the maximum penalty that can be imposed under Minnesota Law unless otherwise specified.
Misdemeanor: 90 days in jail and/or a $1,000 fine.
Gross Misdemeanor: one year in jail and/or a $3,000 fine.
Felony: 5 years in prison and/or a $10,000 fine.
Domestic assault by strangulation: Felony: 3 years and/or a $5,000 fine.