The criminal lawyers at Brandt Criminal Defense can help. Our Team has over 30 years of experience handling all types of petty misdemeanor offenses. We have been named “Super Lawyers” and “rising Stars” for the last 12 years in a row.
Petty misdemeanors are not considered a crime in Minnesota because the punishment carries no possible jail time, only a fine of up to $300. Because of this, a person is not entitled to a state appointed attorney and must either hire a private attorney or fight the charges by himself or herself.
Petty misdemeanors include:
- Traffic citations
- Leaving your dog or cat unattended in a motor vehicle
In some cases, a person does not need an attorney to fight petty misdemeanor charges. Other times, a person’s job, driving record, or other concerns require the assistance of a lawyer. Our team of lawyers are always available to advise someone accused of a petty misdemeanor throughout the Twin Cities area. We pride ourselves on honesty and are happy to tell you when we think you can handle your case without an attorney. If you decide you do want an attorney to help you, we are happy to do so.
Call 763-421-6366 for a free consultation today.
Petty Misdemeanor Information & Guides
The maximum penalty for a petty misdemeanor is a $300 fine. By definition, a petty misdemeanor cannot be punished with jail time.
Petty misdemeanor: A petty offense which is prohibited by statute, which does not constitute a crime and for which a sentence of a fine of not more than $300 may be imposed.
Misdemeanor: A crime that is punishable by up to 90 days in jail and/or a $1,000 fine.
Gross Misdemeanor: A crime that is punishable by up to one year in jail and/or a $3,000 fine.
Felony: A crime that is punishable by over one year in jail.
What’s the difference between petty misdemeanors and misdemeanors?
In Minnesota, a petty misdemeanor is not a crime because it is only punishable by a fine and no jail time. A misdemeanor is a crime.